ice cross wagrain

Riders Cup

Start of the Ice Cross Downhill season in Wagrain-Kleinarl

The fastest sport on ice is back. Again Wagrain-Kleinarl will host the kick-off event of the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship 2017/18. Athletes from almost 20 countries fight for World Cup points from 14. till 16. December 2017. Among others also the two-time World Champion Cameron Naasz and the Dallago Brothers. The toughest ice skaters in the world, an atmosphere full of suspense, and thousands of cubic meter of frozen water in the heart of the Salzburger Sportwelt guarantee an extraordinary event.

Be there when the daring athletes speed down the demanding ice track with up to 80 km/h!

Timetable

Riders Cup 2017

Thu, December 14

  • 9-10.30 am: Training
  • 1-2.30 pm: Qualification/Time trials
  • 5-7 pm: Show training

Fri, December 15

  • 9 am-1 pm: Training
  • 1-5 pm: Qualification/Time trials

Sat, December 16

  • 10 am-noon: Round of the best 128 
  • 7-8 pm: Warm-Up Party with Ö3 Disco
  • 8-10 pm: Top 64 - Riders Cup Final
  • 10 pm-00.30 am: Ö3 Disco with Ö3- DJ David Gstraunthaler 
Riders Cup FINALS

The best 64 riders, who were successful in the qualification and the competition so far, participate in the finals on 16.12. from 8-10 pm and compete against each other to win the Riders Cup.

Action on ice

World class sports in the Salzburger Sportwelt

The Riders Cup reflects the rapid development which this action-packed sport on ice has seen over the last several years. The Riders Cup events are organized “by riders for riders” and are part of the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship. The athletes who participate in the Red Bull Crashed Ice events and Riders Cups, practice all year round and come from various disciplines, from alpine skiing to mountain biking.

The race calendar of the Riders Cup, which is again kicked off in Wagrain-Kleinarl this year, consists of five competitions in Europe and North America.

„Riders Cup 2017 – See the fastest ice skaters live in Wagrain-Kleinarl."

Local Heroes

Austrian hot stuff

MARCO DALLAGO
In 2010, when it was first held as a world championship, Marco Dallago decided to compete in the qualification for the race at the Olympic Park Munich. The passionate skier and ice hockey enthusiast quickly established himself in the scene and achieved his biggest success with the 2014 world championship title. 

LUCA DALLAGO
After a quite successful first season in 2012, Marco’s brother Luca decided to build a practice track in the family’s own forest. Apart from the team world championship title in 2014 (with his brother Marco, John Fisher and Andreas Wirnstl), this decision also brought him a 4th (2014) and 5th (2016) overall ranking in the World Championship.

riders cup wagrain winner | © Jorg Mitter© Jorg Mitter
FAQ's

About the Riders Cup in Wagrain

The journey to Wagrain-Kleinarl is quiet easy - even by rail, bus or car. Details will be find here.

Complete ice-hockey gear is required to fulfil qualifying conditions. This includes:

  • Helmet with face mask   
  • Shoulder protectors
  • Chest/back padding
  • Elbow guards
  • Hockey gloves 
  • Hockey pants
  • Knee/shin guards 
  • Hockey skates (speed skates are not permitted)

For additional details regarding prescribed equipment, please read our official rules.

There is a separate race for women, the number of rounds depends on the number of participating ladies.

We ask participants to bring their own blade covers to the event.

The course is in the EGG section of Wagrain, close to "Jugendhotel Markushof"- or the valley station "Flying Mozart" > map

Participants, who have completed their 16th birthday before the first day of the event, are allowed to participate with the signature of their parents. The disclaimer is mandatory for 16- and 17-year olds.

 

A blade-sharpening service will be offered here on-site – only on the days of the event itself.

As they were designing it, the Dallago brothers and other athletes from Europe insured the 300-350 meter course would drop 35 vertical meters with an average course width of around 4.5 meters. It was conceived with the idea of also giving racers new to the sport a really good feel for the experience – a bit of high speed, flowing combinations of rollers and jumps, along with a long stopping area.

Registration is open to a maximum of 160 racers on a "first come – first serve" basis. Registration for the event 2017 starts on November 10th.

If you are looking for accommodation, the team of Wagrain-Kleinarl Tourismus is glad to help.  In the past few years, many participants stayed at the youthostel Oberwimm, which is located near the track.

ice cross wagrain

Riders Cup

Ice Cross Downhill-Event in Wagrain-Kleinarl

Zum vierten Mal ist Wagrain-Kleinarl im Winter 2017/18 Gastgeber einer Veranstaltung der Ice Cross Downhill World Championship. Beim schnellsten Sport am Eis kämpfen Athleten aus knapp 20 Nationen vom 14. bis 17. Dezember 2017 um WM-Punkte. Die härtesten Ice-Skater der Welt, eine spannungsgeladene Atmosphäre und tausende Kubikmeter gefrorenes Wasser sorgen inmitten der Salzburger Sportwelt für ein Event der Extraklasse.  

Seid live dabei, wenn sich die Athleten mit bis zu 80 km/h in die anspruchsvolle, beinharte Strecke aus Eis stürzen!

Action am Eis

Weltklasse-Sport in der Salzburger Sportwelt

Der Riders Cup spiegelt die rasante Entwicklung, die der actiongeladene Sport am Eis in den letzten Jahren erfahren hat, wider. Die Events des Riders Cup werden „von Ridern für Rider" organisiert und sind Teil der Ice Cross Downhill World Championship. Die Athleten, die sowohl beim Red Bull Crashed Ice als auch beim Riders Cup teilnehmen, trainieren das ganze Jahr über und kommen von den unterschiedlichsten Sportarten: vom alpinen Skifahrer bis zum Mountainbiker.

Der Rennkalender des Riders Cup, dessen Auftakt im letzten Jahr das Event in Wagrain-Kleinarl bildete, besteht aus fünf Bewerben in Europa und Nordamerika.

„Riders Cup 2017 – erlebt die schnellsten Ice-Skater live in Wagrain-Kleinarl."

Local Heroes

Heiße Eisen aus Österreich

MARCO DALLAGO
2010 beschloss Marco Dallago erstmals bei der Qualifikation für das Rennen im Münchner Olympiapark anzutreten. Der leidenschaftliche Skifahrer und Eishockey-Crack etablierte sich sofort in der Szene und erreichte mit dem Weltmeistertitel 2014 seinen größten Erfolg.

LUCA DALLAGO
Nach einer durchaus erfolgreichen ersten Saison 2012 beschloss Marcos Bruder Luca, sich im Wald eine Trainingsstrecke zu bauen. Eine Entscheidung, die ihm neben dem Team-Weltmeistertitel 2014 (mit Bruder Marco, John Fisher und Andreas Wirnstl) einen 4. (2014) und einen 5. WM-Gesamtrang (2016) einbrachte.

riders cup wagrain sieger | © Jorg Mitter© Jorg Mitter
FAQ's

ZUM RIDERS CUP IN WAGRAIN

Die Anreise gestaltet sich unkompliziert, entweder mit Bahn, Bus oder Auto. Details dazu unter unserem Menüpunkt "Anreise"

Eine vollständige Eishockeyausrüstung ist für das Antreten Voraussetzung. Dazu gehören:

  • Helm mit Gesichtsschutz
  • Schulterprotektoren
  • Brust-/Rückenpanzer
  • Ellenbogenschoner
  • Hockey-Handschuhe
  • Hockey-Hose
  • Knie-/Schienbeinschoner
  • Hockey-Schlittschuhe (Speedskates nicht erlaubt)

Weitere Details zu den offiziellen Regeln für die vorgeschriebene Ausrüstung.

Damen und Männer können sich gleichermaßen für den Riders Cup qualifizieren und werden im gleichen Bewerb starten. Es gibt kein eigenes Rennen für Damen, aber eine Ergebnisliste und eine Siegerehrung für Damen.

Wir bitten die Teilnehmer, ihre eigenen Kufenschoner zum Event mitzunehmen, um sich angenehmer im Areal bewegen zu können.  

Die Rennstrecke in Wagrain befindet sich im Ortsteil EGG, nahe des "Jugendhotels Markushof" bzw. der Talstation "Flying Mozart".

Das Mindestalter für den Qualifikationslauf beträgt 18.

Wird an den Tagen des Events vor Ort angeboten.

Die Dallago Brüder und weitere Athleten aus Europa nehmen beim Streckenbau darauf Rücksicht, dass der 300-350 Meter lange Kurs einen Höhenunterschied von ca. 35 Metern aufweist. Er ist so konzipiert, dass auch neue Fahrer ein Gefühl für das Erlebnis bekommen können. Ein wenig Highspeed, flüssige Kombinationen aus Wellen und Sprüngen sowie ein langer Auslauf im Zielbereich.

Maximal 160 freie Plätze gibt es bei den Registrierungen. Es gilt das Prinzip „first come - first serve“. Die Registrierung für das Rennen  2017 ist ab November freigeschaltet. 

Das Team vom Tourismusbüro Wagrain-Kleinarl Tourismus ist gerne bei der Unterkunftssuche behilflich. In den vergangenen Jahren waren viele Teilnehmer im Jugendhotel Oberwimm untergebracht, welches nah an der Strecke liegt.   

Eiszeit!

Seid live davbei beim Riders Cup